Within a Cooee! Advice Tool

I’m thinking about uni, but I’m still not sure, conversation starters directed towards regional people who are considering university as an option.


Being Regional

I’m Thinking About Uni

I’m at Uni:Now keep going!

Like a Rollercoaster

Potential hurdles

Costs: financial and other

Financial seems to be one of the biggest barriers, and I guess that it depends – if you’re talking about moving away to go to university or remaining, financially both can be an issue but in different ways. I know there are so many people that I speak to, especially mature age, who would love to study and they feel secure in their job, but they want something more. They want to feel that sense of fulfilment from their career but you know, if they cut down their hours at work in order to study, they risk losing their job, or losing their hours

Molly (staff) has worked at a regional campus in careers for four years

  • Fail to prepare, you prepare to fail. Make sure you have some savings and a solid plan, and a backup plan, and a backup plan of that backup plan. (Jared)

    Jared is 18-20 from an inner regional area, in 1st year commerce, moved away to attend on campus, fulltime. He is first in family, from LSES and working class background; has a part time job and involved in extra-curricular activities

  • There is a fair amount of guilt, especially during holidays as uni holidays and school holidays do not align. Not being able to be part of family and school events. Also feeling pressured from my husband; initially he supported but not now. (Charlotte)

    Charlotte is 41-50 from an outer regional area, in 2nd year education, part-time online. She is first in family, has children, works part time and has community commitments

  • Look at all your options, look at financial aid or scholarships and make sure you have a reliable computer and internet connection. (Jules)

    Jules is 26-30 from an outer regional area, in her 3rd year of Psychological Science. She is fulltime, is first in family, and from LSES and working class background

  • Look into scholarship opportunities because there are many out there and apply to as many as possible. Get a casual or part time job if you can and save up money. (Ari)

    Ari is 18-20 from an inner regional area, in 1st year Psychology, on campus fulltime. She is first in family and works a casual job. She commutes 4 days a week to uni.