Within a Cooee! Advice Tool

I’m at uni: now keep going! is a collection of encouragement and advice, gleaned from experience, for those who have already begun their studies.


Being Regional

I’m Thinking About Uni

I’m at Uni: Now keep going!

Like a Rollercoaster

Who or what keeps you going?

Students identified a variety of ways they kept going, especially when the going got tough. This ranged from seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, or drawing on their inner strengths and determination. Also the support of family and friends is really important, as are colleagues, uni staff, peers, pets, faith or getting out, taking a break and doing something active.

Knowing when the end date is of my last test!!! Having a loving family also that just make me smile and pick me up saying it’s gonna be ok. Also, an important one is knowing that I am setting myself up for my future, and in the end it’s going to be all worth it!

Brooke is 18-20 from inner regional NSW, in 2nd year Commerce, fulltime in blended mode. She is first in family, has community commitments and works part-time and casual jobs

  • My family are my biggest supporters, and being able to still live with them is a huge help when juggling uni, work and sport. I play a lot of sports, and find no matter how stressed or overwhelmed I feel, a game of netball or basketball always seems to fix it. I have a great network off friends still living in town too, and having social events on the weekends makes me work hard during the weeks to earn a good break. (Evelyn)

    Evelyn is 21-25 from an outer regional area in 1st year Education, fulltime in blended mode. She also works fulltime and is involved in extra-curricular activities.

  • My family’s a huge one. We had some family things happen at the end of last semester and I think the only reason I got those last assignments in and kept getting through it was having my family (Tamsin)

    Tamsin is 21 from an outer regional area. She had a 3 year gap, now in 1st year Education, fulltime in blended mode. She is from working class background, and she has part-time work

  • My lecturers and tutors; they are all so helpful and understanding when I go through rough patches. They always find ways to help make sure I get through my studies when I need it. (Grace)

    Grace is a 21-25 year old Education student from an outer regional area, and is first in her family to go to uni. She moved 400kms from her family and is now in her final year.

  • In tough times I’ve got my peers, I’ve got a couple of girl friends – we’re all quite close. And my dogs! Believe it or not, they’ve probably supported me the most over the last six months, and yeah, my partner and my family (Ella)

    Ella is 26-30 from an outer regional area, in 1st year nursing fulltime in blended mode. She identifies as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander, is from working class background and is carer for family member(s). She is also involved in her community